Featured Official Review: The Crystilleries of Echoland

Please use this sub-forum to discuss any young adult books.
Forum rules
Authors and publishers are not able to post replies in the review topics.
Post Reply
User avatar
Kibetious
Previous Member of the Month
Posts: 2392
Joined: 26 Jul 2017, 01:48
2019 Reading Goal: 70
2019 Reading Goal Completion: 70
2018 Reading Goal: 100
2018 Reading Goal Completion: 49
Currently Reading: Diary Of Saint Shy Shy
Bookshelf Size: 936
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-kibetious.html
Latest Review: The Reel Sisters by Michelle Cummings

Re: Featured Official Review: The Crystilleries of Echoland

Post by Kibetious »

This is truly fascinating. I am perturbed at the fact that there could be two worlds that could bring such a scenario. Great to see that the author developed the characters well and in unforgettable manner. Thanks for the review.
​​​​​​He gives strength to those who are tired; to the ones who lack power, he gives renewed energy :techie-studyinggray:

User avatar
Nandy
Posts: 195
Joined: 24 Jul 2017, 23:05
Currently Reading: Cat Detectives in the Korean Peninsula
Bookshelf Size: 170

Post by Nandy »

Will's story surely sounds like an interesting and captivating one as well as a very thrilling fantasy. I can just imagine the beauty of this unknown world.

User avatar
Echo Haapala
Posts: 166
Joined: 26 Mar 2018, 20:34
2018 Reading Goal: 50
2018 Reading Goal Completion: 36
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 52
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-echo-haapala.html
Latest Review: Serendipity Mystery: Diary of a Snoopy Cat by R.F. Kristi

Post by Echo Haapala »

I really enjoyed your entire review, especially the beginning. You caught my attention and hooked me on this book.

User avatar
KRay93
Posts: 393
Joined: 01 Mar 2018, 09:49
2018 Reading Goal: 0
2018 Reading Goal Completion: 0
2017 Reading Goal: 0
Currently Reading: The Bourne Identity
Bookshelf Size: 98
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-kray93.html
Latest Review: Non-Disclosure by George Dapra

Post by KRay93 »

Thank you for the review. This take on parallel worlds around typical elements of fantasy books sounds interesting, and the promise of a fast-paced and full of action story along with memorable characters is an almost irresistible combo. Although it is intended for teenagers, maybe I'll give it an opportunity.

User avatar
Mouricia25
Posts: 393
Joined: 01 Jan 2018, 15:49
2019 Reading Goal: 12
2019 Reading Goal Completion: 158
2018 Reading Goal: 12
2018 Reading Goal Completion: 216
Currently Reading: Covet (Fallen Angels Series #1)
Bookshelf Size: 76
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-mouricia25.html
Latest Review: When you get what you want, but not what you need by Maya Sher
Reading Device: B01N3UC27N

Post by Mouricia25 »

This seems like a book I could get into. I like the plot idea.

User avatar
starshipsaga
Posts: 472
Joined: 03 Jan 2018, 10:12
2018 Reading Goal: 100
2018 Reading Goal Completion: 10
2017 Reading Goal: 0
Currently Reading: Redemption
Bookshelf Size: 2040
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-starshipsaga.html
Latest Review: Secrets of the Dead by Murray Bailey

Post by starshipsaga »

This sounds like a wonderfully adventurous and magical teen fantasy. Even though it is probably geared towards middle grade audiences, I think even older readers can enjoy it. I'm also a big fan of audiobooks and I find that a lot of these YA/MG books work very well in this format. I'm glad you had such a good time with the novel.

User avatar
Tysthe1
Posts: 1
Joined: 06 Feb 2019, 21:03
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 0

Post by Tysthe1 »

I am a big Harry Potter fan and am also a fan of audible books. Your review is interesting and piques my interest in this book more than it already was. I like the premise of parallel universes and echos. You do a good job of pulling the customer in with your review and then seal the deal with the mention of the author's imagination, attention to detail, and Harry Potter. I will be reading this book.

User avatar
ladycraic
Posts: 518
Joined: 31 Oct 2017, 20:00
2018 Reading Goal: 15
2018 Reading Goal Completion: 80
Currently Reading: Natural Cures: Stay Healthy Naturally
Bookshelf Size: 239
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-ladycraic.html
Latest Review: When War Ends by Patricia Tomlin

Post by ladycraic »

The idea of Echoes and Sounds is an interesting. Thanks for the review - it seems like the author did a fantastic job creating a story with such a unique and fascinating plot. I plan to read :)

User avatar
todwyer01
Posts: 656
Joined: 27 Feb 2017, 19:31
2018 Reading Goal: 20
2018 Reading Goal Completion: 115
Currently Reading: From the Fatherland with love
Bookshelf Size: 68
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-todwyer01.html

Post by todwyer01 »

From a sampling, this seems like an interesting fantasy story. The concept of "echoes" and "sounds" to explain the two parallel mirror worlds and the pursuit of one such individual, Will, to find her sister. Definitely worth a second look. Well Done.

User avatar
Ksharmilla
Posts: 267
Joined: 22 May 2018, 19:16
Currently Reading:
Bookshelf Size: 46
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-ksharmilla.html
Latest Review: MY FRIEND Marilyn by Christopher Lentz

Post by Ksharmilla »

I usually like these types of books but I'm not completely sure I would want to read this one. The writing is great. It's just the storyline....something about it doesn't quite appeal to me. I feel it's most likely how the persons exist in the parallel world.

User avatar
Nightwolf
Posts: 1
Joined: 06 Feb 2019, 21:39
Bookshelf Size: 0

Post by Nightwolf »

I like the idea of a world that is like a reflection of ours quite a bit but I have to admit the book was a bit slow for me. There was almost no background until further into the book and the chapters were very short. But the idea is a good one and I did like where the author was trying to take it.

User avatar
holsam_87
Posts: 844
Joined: 03 Feb 2018, 15:45
2019 Reading Goal: 150
2019 Reading Goal Completion: 16
2018 Reading Goal: 100
2018 Reading Goal Completion: 92
Currently Reading: Snow White and the Power of Light
Bookshelf Size: 1691
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-holsam-87.html
Latest Review: Herai by Aaron D Key
Reading Device: B00IKPYKWG

Post by holsam_87 »

Since this was recommended for fans of Harry Potter, I will check it out. With the concept of parallel worlds, I think this will my kind of book.
Samantha Holtsclaw

“We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are.”

—J. K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Latest Review: Herai by Aaron D Key

User avatar
Townsend2316
Posts: 38
Joined: 27 Jan 2019, 21:39
Currently Reading: The Devil's Bones
Bookshelf Size: 32
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-townsend2316.html
Latest Review: The McCoys Before The Feud by Thomas McCoy

Post by Townsend2316 »

I downloaded this one a couple days ago because it sounded fascinating. I'm so glad to see someone thinks it's as good as what I picture it being!

User avatar
Samy Lax
Posts: 1101
Joined: 30 Jan 2018, 01:40
2019 Reading Goal: 53
2019 Reading Goal Completion: 66
2018 Reading Goal: 38
2018 Reading Goal Completion: 118
Currently Reading: 100 Ways to Motivate Yourself
Bookshelf Size: 156
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-samy-lax.html
Latest Review: Chats with God in Underwear by Eduardo Chapunoff

Post by Samy Lax »

From the sample that I read, I found the premise behind this book to be really intriguing. I am surely going to read it till the end.
“...in principle and reality, libraries are life-enhancing palaces of wonder.”
― Gail Honeyman, Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

mariakavo88
Posts: 202
Joined: 12 Apr 2017, 15:26
2018 Reading Goal: 100
2018 Reading Goal Completion: 6
2017 Reading Goal: 100
Currently Reading: Raven's Fall
Bookshelf Size: 21
Reviewer Page: onlinebookclub.org/reviews/by-mariakavo88.html
Latest Review: It's Hard to Be a Vampire by Viktoria Faust
Reading Device: 1400697484

Post by mariakavo88 »

Wow. this sounds like a really great book and very interesting. I have read a lot of fantasy books, but not really too many with the parallel universe theme. This sounds very interesting and I am glad that I got a copy for free.

Post Reply

Return to “Young Adult Fiction Books”